death cap!

while looking for mushrooms at the woodlawn cemetery in the bronx

david horvitz and i came a across

A REAL HUMAN SKULL ON THE GRASS!!!!!!!

we carried it around in a paper bag for about an hour but

after baffled discussions regarding its origin,

i foolishly asked my mom, who works at a cemetery in sacramento,

what we should do.

she seemed very frightened and said we had to report it.

i gave it to a security guard who said casually, but over and over,

“you can get these things on the internet. probably some voodoo thing”

but he would not give it back to us.

it is odd to feel like a failure for not being nuts enough

and relief for having evaded the risk being haunted.

EU tour updates/ adjustments/ changes/ modernizations/ improvements

please note

 

Tues 28.10.14 IT Bologna, Gender Bender fest @ Lokomotiv (solo experimental set)

Thurs 30.10.14 PL Warsaw, Cafe Kulturalna

Fri 31.10.14 CZ Prague, Strašnické Divadlo

Sat 01.11.14 AT Ebensee, Kino

Sun 02.11.14 AT Vienna, WUK

Mon 03.11.14 CZ Budweiss, Ostinato

Tues 04.11.14 SI Ljubljana, Kino Siska

Wed 05.11.14 HU Budapest, GMK

Thurs 06.11.14 SERB Belgrade, Gun Club

Fri 07.11.14 MAC Art Skopje, Cinema Frosina

Sat 08.11.14 GR Thessaloniki, Mavri Trypa

Sun 09.11.14 GR Athens, Six Dogs

Tue 11.11.14 IT Lecce, Arci Rubik

Wed 12.11.14 IT Rome, Circolo degli Artisti

Thu 13.11.14 IT Milan, Masada

Fri 14.11.14 CH Bern, Dampfzentrale w/ Hidden CamerasSat 15.11.14 CH Le Locle, Lux

Sun 16.11.14 FR Clermont Ferrand, Raymond Bar

Tue 18.11.14 FR Paris, Espace B

Wed 19.11.14 BE Brussels, Autumn Falls Festival, DNA

Thu 20.11.14 NL Le Guess Who, Utrecht (Swans event)

 

NYC take over, new video, EU dates

METAL

Xiu Xiu is happy to announce the premier of a new collaboration with visual artist Danh Vo at the historic and venerable Kitchen in New York City entitled METAL.

Wielding massive hammers, two Thai gold leaf pounders, will work for three hours while Xiu Xiu (Shayna Dunkelman, Ches Smith,Jamie Stewart) plays 36 out 52 randomly selected 5 minute pieces for metal percussion. Changes will be signaled by a fire alarm bell and a new piece will begin. The sound and poly rhythms of the hammering gold against marble will be juxtaposed with gongs, vibraphones, cymbals, bells, crotales, bowls  and rocar.

opening September 27 6-8 with shows Tuesday through Saturday September 30 to October 18th.

____________

KLING KLANG

On September 28 at noon Xiu Xiu will premier a sound installation at Brooklyn Bridge Park.

Using 999 pink vibrating eggs neon duct taped one at a time to the enormous copper sculpture, We the People,  a clanging and sonorous chord will emerge. As the batteries in the eggs die the pitch of the chord will slowly get lower and quieter until it is silent again.

_____________

XIU XIU

Xiu Xiu (Shayna Dunkelman, Jamie Stewart) playing songs from 2002-2004 and 2014 with very special guest yvette

at Glasslands new york

october 18 2014 289 kent brooklyn NYC early show doors at 8

 TICKETS

18+

_____________

NEW VIDEO FOR CINTHYA’S UNISEX by Floren Textier

_______________

EUROPE TOUR DATES!

Tues 28.10.14 IT Bologna, Gender Bender fest @ Lokomotiv (solo experimental set)

Thurs 30.10.14 PL Warsaw, Cafe Kulturalna

Fri 31.10.14 CZ Prague, Strašnické Divadlo

Sat 01.11.14 AT Ebensee, Kino

Sun 02.11.14 AT Vienna, WUK

Mon 03.11.14 CZ Budweiss, Ostinato

Tues 04.11.14 SI Ljubljana, Kino Siska

Wed 05.11.14 HU Budapest, GMK

Thurs 06.11.14 SERB Belgrade, Gun Club

Fri 07.11.14 MAC Art Skopje, Cinema Frosina

Sat 08.11.14 GR Thessaloniki, Mavri Trypa

Sun 09.11.14 GR Athens, Six Dogs

Tue 11.11.14 IT Lecce, Arci Rubik

Wed 12.11.14 IT Rome, Circolo degli Artisti

Thu 13.11.14 IT Milan, Masada

Fri 14.11.14 CH Bern, Dampfzentrale w/ Hidden CamerasSat 15.11.14 CH Le Locle, LuxSun 16.11.14 FR Clermont Ferrand, Raymond Bar

Tue 18.11.14 FR Paris, Espace B

Wed 19.11.14 BE Brussels, Autumn Falls Festival, DNA

Thu 20.11.14 NL Le Guess Who, Utrecht (Swans event)